Early Years Foundation Stage

We plan an exciting and challenging curriculum based on our observation of a child’s needs, interests and stages of development across the seven areas of learning to enable the child to achieve and exceed the early learning goals.

All the seven areas of learning and development are important. The three prime areas are:

  • Communication and Language

  • Physical Development

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

The prime areas are supported, strengthened and applied by four specific areas:

  • Literacy

  • Mathematics

  • Understanding the World

  • Expressive Arts and Design


About Us

Play in the Early Years Foundation Stage

‘Play is the work of the young child’.

Play underpins the delivery of the Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum. Through play, our students explore and develop learning experiences which help them to make sense of the world. They practise and build up ideas and learn how to control themselves and understand the need for rules. Students are given the opportunities to explore and discover, within a safe and supported environment. They have the opportunity to think creatively alongside other students as well as on their own. They communicate with others as they investigate and solve problems. Through play, children develop intellectually, creatively, physically, socially and emotionally.